Skip to content

I Believe God Put Us Together

April 20, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about my late wife. I was gone for a few days so did not post.

I wrote this story shortly after Billie died. The story tells about the life-changing event of meeting this young lady.

Sometimes an event happens that is life-changing. Such an event happened on March 20, 1955 that was a life-changing day for me.

I was in the Navy for nearly four years and fully intended to make it a career. I loved the Navy. Dad did not want me to re-enlist, but I intended to re-enlist anyway. About two weeks before my scheduled discharge date, I was unexpectedly sent from my squadron to a receiving center for discharge. I told the Chief that I wanted to re-enlist and return to my squadron. I loved my job in the squadron and the fact that we spent six months in the U.S. and six months overseas each year. I was seeing the world.

When I started to sign the re-enlistment papers, I found out I was scheduled to go aboard an aircraft carrier that was leaving a west coast port in a few days. The Chief told me that the carriers were shorthanded and everyone currently re-enlisting was being assigned to carriers, on both coasts. I said that if I had to go aboard a carrier, send me to the east coast. When the Chief said that his job was to outfit the carriers on the west coast, I took my discharge and went home.

I planned to spend a couple of months at home, travel to the east coast and re-enlist. By shipping out on an east coast carrier, I hoped to see Europe and meet some pretty French, Italian and Spanish women. At that time, my hopes were to have a girl in every port.

I arrived home Sunday afternoon, March 20, 1955. Dad was the pastor of a small rural Baptist Church in western Oklahoma. That night at church, Mom introduced me to a young lady and her family. She was one of the prettiest girls I had ever met. A week later, we began dating and were together almost everyday after that.

I realized within a few days that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with this pretty lady. I was not interested in just a few dates; I wanted to be with her forever. We married just over three months after meeting. I never went back in the Navy.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

