Skip to content

Work Ethics 2

April 3, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is more about work ethics.

During my working life, I sometimes worked as a direct employee and sometimes as a contractor. I never worked any different as a contractor than I did as a direct employee. When I was on the job, I gave my all. A time or two, I had other contractors tell me I should not get whistle-bit (meaning caught working when the whistle blows for quitting time). I was nearly always whistle-bit.

My style of working usually kept me working. Many times, I would go on a job as a contractor on a three-month contract and still be there three to four years later. Usually, I was the last contractor to be let go. Many times, direct employees were laid off while I was still working on contract.

I was told by others a few times not to work too fast or I would run out of work and be laid off. I never slowed down, but also seldom ran out of work. Most of the time I would finish a task, usually faster than others, and be given more work to do. It was just my working style as my Dad and grandfathers taught me – a day’s work for a day’s pay. Thankfully, I see the same working style in my children.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

