Skip to content

Strange noise

March 27, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about a strange noise at work.

I walked in the office at 6:30 on a Sunday morning. I did not turn on the lights because it was already daylight outside and my cubicle was next to the windows. As I reached my cubicle, I could see that my car was the only one in the parking lot, so I was the only person in the office. I had worked several hours Saturday and was back early Sunday morning.

I began editing a file on the computer when suddenly I heard a sound like rustling of paper in the next cubicle. The hair on my head stood straight up and goose bumps popped out all over my body. I KNEW there was no one else in the room. What could it be? What was the noise?

Various thoughts raced through my mind as I wondered what I had heard. No one could walk in without me hearing the door open. I slid my chair back and stood up. The hair on my head was still standing straight up as I started around the cubicle to see what had made the noise. As I rounded the corner, a bird fluttered up over the cubicle wall and flew to the other end of the room.

The noise was not papers rustling; it was fluttering of bird wings. I remembered seeing a bird flying around the office on Saturday. We never knew how it got in, but it had flown all over the office. As I left Saturday afternoon, one of the others planned to call Security and tell them about the bird. Apparently, nothing was done. The poor bird had been in the office all night and was probably more scared than I was when it heard me.

I returned to my cubicle and called Security to report the bird. Security would have someone catch the bird and release it outside. The goose bumps went away and my hair did not feel like it was standing straight up anymore. What a rush of adrenaline that had been. I had put on a pot of coffee in the break room as I came in so I decided to get a cup before continuing. After getting a cup of coffee, I sat down at the computer to finish editing the files I needed to complete.

There is a moment of fright when a strange noise erupts in an empty office or an empty house. Several times I have had this happen. When it does, it feels like my hair stands straight up.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

