Skip to content

Girl watching

March 26, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about girl watching.

A comment about girl watching: During my last job, my friend David and I ate with a couple of women friends many times. David was very obvious with his girl watching. He would turn his head and stare as a pretty lady walked by. I seldom turned my head, but would sometimes follow them with my eyes if they were strikingly beautiful

One day the four of us were eating in the company cafeteria. Mary Ann was sitting in front of me and Melissa was sitting in front of David. David had been turning his head looking at pretty women, as usual. A strikingly beautiful woman walked by and I followed her with my eyes without turning my head. Suddenly Mary Ann laughed and said, “Jerry is a girl watcher. He may not turn his head, but I just saw him follow one with his eyes as she walked by.”

Mary Ann and I worked at a couple of companies together. Once when Melissa received flowers from her husband on her birthday, I asked Mary Ann how old Melissa was. Mary Ann said Melissa was 33, thought a moment and said, “You’re twice as old as she is.” She reminded me several times that I was old enough to be her father. That became a standing joke between us.

Once, she said she was going to take me to lunch for my birthday later that week. I told Billie and asked if she wanted to meet us for lunch and she said she had something to do. When Mary Ann and I arrived at the place we were having lunch, I found out what Billie had to do – she had to surprise me by being there also. Mary Ann had called her and planned it. Mary Ann was the only person I worked with who came to our 50th Anniversary celebration. She was a good friend to both Billie and me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

