Skip to content

Hair spray

March 23, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about some of my travel experiences.

I traveled a lot for many years. One trip in about 1973, I went with several people to a naval base near Jacksonville, Florida to resolve a problem with some equipment or procedures. One of the people was Bob, representing our training department, not the cousin Bob previously mentioned. Bob and I were up before anyone else and had breakfast together in the hotel restaurant. At breakfast, Bob was saying that he needed to see the program manager and borrow the car to go find a drugstore. He needed to buy some hairspray.

I began bugging Bob about using hairspray. I knew that Bob had done some rodeoing when he was younger and was stressing the idea that hairspray was a women’s product. He began explaining that his wife had convinced him to try it and it worked. As we walked back to see if the program manager was up, I stopped at my room and asked Bob to wait a minute. I left the door open as I went in and sprayed my own hair.

Bob came in the room really griping at me for bugging him about hairspray. I then asked him if he wanted to use mine. I had begun using hairspray a couple of years before. Bob looked at the hairspray I had and said he had never seen that brand before. I bought a men’s brand and he had been using his wife’s because she always bought it. He tried mine and said he would start buying that brand because he liked it. It did not seem as sticky as the women’s brand his wife had been buying.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

