Skip to content

Oklahoma Tornadoes 3

March 16, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is another excerpt about Oklahoma tornadoes.

After our first child was born, I went to Mom and Dad’s for the night. I went to sleep on the couch, since I had been awake for most of the preceding three days. When Mom and Dad came home about 9 p.m., they made me go to bed in the back bedroom.

An hour later, Dad woke me to go to the cellar because a storm was brewing.  I told him to go without me because I was staying in the bed. A little later Dad came in and insisted that I join them in the cellar. There was one double bed in the cellar and my three sisters and brother were already on the bed, but made room for me. When it began raining hard, one spot in the cellar started leaking and that drip was right over me. I could not sleep.

 About that time, Dad saw, during lightning flashes, what appeared to be a funnel dipping down from the clouds near us and asked me to see what I thought. I saw what appeared to be a tornado that could possibly hit the town of Snyder as it progressed northeastward. Since I was active on the Ham radio storm warning net, I went in the house to the telephone and called the fire department in town. They blew the siren to alert the residents of a possible tornado, although it did not hit the town of Snyder that night.

After making the call, I went to the bedroom and crawled into bed. Dad came in a few minutes later and fussed at me for not coming back to the cellar. He said, “God gave us sense enough to take shelter when necessary.” I told him, “If God wants me tonight He can have me because I am staying in this bed.”

Again the Lord took care of us. There were not any more tornadoes that night.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

