Skip to content

Oklahoma Tornadoes 2

March 15, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is another excerpt about Oklahoma tornadoes.

A couple of weeks before I got married in 1955, I was home with my little brother and sister one afternoon. Large clouds were rolling in as a storm neared. In southwestern Oklahoma, if it gets very quiet and still as a storm nears, the conditions are ripe for a tornado.

It was deathly quiet. We could hear a tractor across the field at a neighbor’s as if it was in the yard and it was becoming dark from the clouds. I decided to take my brother and sister to the cellar. Although I normally do not run to a cellar, it seemed like the thing to do under the circumstances.

As I opened the screen door at the back of the house a strong wind ripped the door out of my hand and I began hearing a loud roar. I put my brother and sister under the kitchen table and knelt down with them, reciting the 23rd Psalm as Mom had taught me when I was three years old. The wind blew hard and the rain came down heavy for a few minutes. Suddenly, the wind died down and the rain slackened off.

I took my brother and sister to the cellar and saw limbs and debris all over the yard. I made sure my brother and sister were safe in the cellar and looked around and saw that my Ham radio antenna was down. The house did not show any damage so I did not know exactly what had happened.

A neighbor, one of Dad’s church deacons, told us that he saw a tornado touch down in the field southwest of us. As the tornado neared the house, it lifted and rolled across the top of the trees and the house horizontally. It touched the ground again across the road and continued northeastward for a short distance before lifting into the clouds again. God spared us that day.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

