Skip to content

Midnight Call

March 11, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is a late telephone call.

One night our telephone rang after midnight and I jumped from the bed to grab the telephone.

“Hello,” I said as I sat down on the edge of the bed.

“George, what are you doing?” a female voice asked.

“You’ve got a wrong number, this is not George.”

“George, quit playing games. We’re partying, come on over,” said the female voice.

I could hear party noises in the background and was about to hang up the telephone when I heard, “George, George, you better not hang up on me!”

The sound was loud. I was holding the telephone away from my ear and still hearing it very well. By then Billie was sitting up in bed and she could hear the voice and the party noises on the telephone. She looked at me with a puzzled look.

“George, you better answer me. George!”

I sat, holding the telephone where Billie and I could both hear it and began grinning.

“George, George, you’re going to regret this.”

We sat listening to the party noises and finally ‘click’ as she hung up the telephone on her end.

Billie and I started laughing as I hung up our telephone. “Sounds like George is in trouble,” she said.

“Yeah, doesn’t it? That was weird,” I replied and crawled back into the bed.

The next day at work I told the story about the telephone call and we enjoyed a laugh about the incident. That evening at home, the telephone rang; I picked it up and said, “Hello.”

“George, what are you doing,” a male voice asked.

I replied, “You’ve got a wrong number. There’s no George here.”

As I started to hang up, I heard, “Jerry, don’t hang up.”

An anger emotion ran through my body as I began thinking that the entire episode was someone who knew me all the time. “Who is this,” I demanded.

“This is Bob. Billie called and told us about the call last night and I just thought I would pull your string,” as he laughed. It was the husband of Billie’s cousin.

“That must have been some call you got last night. Why didn’t you ask who she was,” Bob asked. The anger emotion left my body and we had a laughing chat about the incident.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

