Skip to content

Funny incidents at the bowling lanes

March 7, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about some bowling incidents.

We bowled in many leagues. A female friend came to me one night before bowling started and told me a dirty joke. Apparently, my face turned red, which tickled her. After that she came over every time we bowled to tell me another dirty joke and see my face turn red. I guess in some ways, I am still old-fashioned.

***

The owner of Valwood Lanes, where we bowled in Farmers Branch, Texas, bought several bowling lanes in other towns. He bought one in Vernon, Texas and a friend, Bill, moved there to manage the bowling lanes.

We were in Oklahoma visiting Billie’s family and decided to stop by the bowling lanes in Vernon to see our friends. We went in on Sunday morning. They seemed happy to see us and we went to the café to have some coffee. Our oldest son went out to bowl while we drank coffee.

After drinking a couple of cups of coffee, I had to go to the restroom. When I came back, I turned to our friend, Bill, and said, “Everyone up here sure must be tall.” Both he and his wife, Incy, laughed and Billie looked funny wondering what we were laughing at.

Incy explained to Billie that the urinal was fairly high on the wall and they had a coke case laying upside-down on the floor for men to stand on. I then said, “I still had to stand on my tiptoes.” Everyone laughed again.

***

Once at Valwood Lanes, Incy was waiting on the lanes taking café orders. She came by our lanes and I ordered a cup of coffee. As she walked away, I said, “Incy, will you stick your finger in my cup?”

Incy smiled and said, “Yes.” I then said, “Don’t bring it to me if you do.” Then I ducked as she hit at me. I was likely to say almost anything to get a reaction.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

