Skip to content

February 28, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about some of my nieces.

We were staying at my sister’s house in the Panhandle of Texas. She had lost her husband a few years before. On Saturday morning, she went outside to bring in the newspaper. Her telephone rang and I answered.

Her daughter, Teresa, was out of town and calling in to check on her mother. When I answered the phone, she instantly said, “Who is this?” I replied, “It’s your uncle Jerry. Your mother is getting the paper in.”

I wish I had thought fast enough to reply, “It’s none of your business,” but did not think that fast. That would have really given her something to think about.

***

Like mother, like daughter:

When a niece was young, they found her in the backyard several times eating dry dog food. After she had a daughter of her own, they were shopping in the grocery store. As they walked through the aisle of dog food, where several other people were also shopping, the daughter said, “Mommy, there’s the kind we eat.” Several other shoppers looked at my grown niece with a funny look.

***

Another time the niece and her husband were in a home improvement store looking at something they needed for the house. They discovered their little daughter was not right with them. They began rushing around to find her and found her sitting on a display toilet. They had just walked by the toilet fixtures on display and the little girl needed to go to the bathroom.

***

We and my youngest sister’s family were visiting Mom and Dad. One evening, I was wearing loose-fitting, baggy sweats. As I walked into the kitchen to get another cup of coffee, my sister’s three-year old granddaughter followed me and said, “Uncle Jerry, do you need to use the bathroom?”

“What did you say,” I asked. She repeated the question so I said, “No, but why did you ask?”

She touched the baggy pants pocket where my wallet was and said, “You are pooching out in back.”

She had a one-year old baby cousin, so knew what it meant when a diaper pooched out.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

