Skip to content

Excerpt from Great-granddaughter Alexus

February 25, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about my great-granddaughter, Alexus.

According to the sonograms, Alexus was going to be a little boy. When she was born, it was a shock to everyone that she was a little girl. Of course, we are so happy, because she is a beautiful little girl, favoring her mother and her great-grandmother so much.

Three-year old Alexus and my wife, Billie, were looking at pictures hanging in our hallway. Alexus looked real close at my wife’s Senior picture from high school and her eyes lit up as she said, “That’s you, Granny.”

Billie then showed her the picture of me in my Navy uniform, shortly before I turned 18. Alexus looked and shook her head. She did not know who it was. Billie told her it was “Granddad.”

Alexus said, “UH-UHHH!”

Alexus is the daughter of our granddaughter, Jayme, who favored Billie very much and Alexus looks just like her mother. Billie still looked very much like her high school picture. I do not look like my Navy picture.

A few years later, Alexus was looking at pictures and I asked her about one showing Jayme, Justin and Jason when they were young sitting with my parents. I asked her about the picture and she pointed to Jayme and said, “That’s me.” I asked who the others were and she did not know. At first she found it hard to believe that it was actually her mother she thought was herself.

***

My daughter, Terry, was watching her three-year old granddaughter, Alexus, play in a playground next to the baseball field as Alec was practicing baseball. A little boy that lived nearby had a battery-powered vehicle that looked like a John Deere tractor. He asked the granddaughter if she wanted to ride.

When Terry said it was okay, Alexus sat down beside the little boy and put her arm around his shoulders. The two rode around a while until the boy’s father said it was time for him to go home. The little boy looked at his father and said, “Can I take her home with me, Daddy?”

***

Conversation between Jayme and Alexus:

Five-year old Alexus came home from her first day in Kindergarten and said to her mother, Jayme, “Mom, I need to tell you something.”

Jayme said, “What do you need to tell me?”

“I think I was a little bit bad in school today.”

“What do you mean ‘a little bit bad?’ What did you do?”

“I wanted to talk and the teacher didn’t want to hear me talk,” Alexus said.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

