Skip to content

Granddaughter Jayme

February 21, 2013

This is an excerpt from my second book, “Memory Harvest of a Sharecropper’s Son,” which is now available in Amazon Kindle format and in printed format. This story is about my granddaughter, Jayme.

Jayme was our first granddaughter, after five grandsons. Being the first and for a while the only granddaughter, I teased her quite a bit. Jayme was the first person that Jason would share his granny’s lap with.

Jayme spent a lot of time with us. When she stayed the night, she slept between Billie and me. She did not want me to kiss Billie or touch her, so she would always get between us.

One Saturday morning, I woke up with Jayme up against my back. I could hear Billie snoring as she inhaled and a whistling sound as she exhaled. When she exhaled with the whistling sound, Jayme would giggle. I listened a few moments and then raised up and asked her, “Who’s making all the noise?” Jayme pointed over her back at Billie and giggled.

***

Our son-in-law took four-year old Jayme fishing for the first time, so we wondered how she would enjoy the excursion. When they came back, they stopped by our house.

Jayme came in the door very excited, with her father right behind her. She stopped in front of me and with a gleam in her eyes said, “We’ve been fishing.”

She must have enjoyed it. I asked, “Where did you go?”

She replied, “Where that big boat is.”

Her father said, “The fishing barge at the lake.”

I asked, “Did you catch anything?”

She grinned and said, “Yep!”

“What did you catch?”

“We caught some crock pots,” she replied.

“You caught WHAT?”

I looked at her father with a puzzled look. He grinned and said, “We caught a few Crappie.”

Jayme looked at him and said, “Well! That’s just short for Crock Pot!”

***

My wife kept five-year old Jayme while her mother worked. Once I left the room after teasing Jayme and she said to my wife, “Don’t ever get rid of Granddaddy.”

Thinking she was going to say something really nice about her granddaddy, my wife looked at her and said, “Why?” She replied, “Sometimes he’s bad, but the next one might be worse.”

***

When Billie’s mother had some surgery, Billie stayed at Headrick, Oklahoma, with her sister Patsy to help and to be with her mother during the week at the hospital in Altus. I took her up on a weekend and planned to go back the next weekend to get her.

On Friday, Jayme called from their home in Lewisville and asked if I was going to get Billie on Saturday. I told her I was and she said she wanted to go. I told her I would stop by on my way through Lewisville the next morning. She said, “No, I’m coming down there to stay with you.” She was afraid I would forget her the next morning.

Terry brought her to the house and she spent the night with me. I got up the next morning, showered, shaved and got dressed. When I came out of the bathroom, she was laying there awake. She got up and got dressed. We then left and headed to Altus, Oklahoma. I was drinking coffee, so when we got to the rest stop north of Decatur, I had to stop. I asked Jayme if she needed to go to the bathroom and she said she did.

I stood outside the women’s restroom while she was inside and then took her back to the car. I told her to sit in the driver’s seat and if anyone came close to the car, to start honking the horn. I also locked the car. I went to the restroom, came back to the car and we left.

After drinking more coffee, I needed to stop again at the rest stop north of Iowa Park. I asked Jayme if she needed to go. She said no, she would sit in the car. She then told me she would sit in the driver’s seat and honk the horn if anyone came close to the car. I again locked the car and went to the restroom. We completed the drive to Altus and picked up Billie to come home.

Jayme played a lot of soccer growing up and still does.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

