Skip to content

Mispronounced Word

February 4, 2013

This is another excerpt from my first book, From Sharecropper’s Son to Tracking Missiles.” The story is about my little brother mispronouncing a word. My friends and I laughed, so he thought Mom and Dad would also.

I built a chicken pen out back for our chickens that summer. I was going to raise chickens for the Vocational Agriculture class my freshman year in high school.

My little brother was only three years old and followed me around a lot. One day, a couple of friends were over and my little brother heard one of us say, “Birds of a feather, flock together.” He repeated it but mispronounced “flock.” We laughed and had him repeat it. We laughed again. Big mistake.

When the friends left, I went back to working on the chicken pen fence. Little brother thought that if we thought it was funny, Mom and Dad would too. He went inside and said it in front of both of them.

The first I knew about it was when I heard the screen door slam and Dad was coming down the steps shouting, “Jerry.” He already had his big, thick belt off. It was not funny to Mom and Dad. He tanned me good. But, that is the last spanking I remember ever getting from him. He never had to spank me again. I was very careful what I said around little brother after that.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

